B2B Portal for Technical and Commercial Foundry Management

Foundry Daily News

16. Oktober 2012

IN - The 3rd Steelie Award winners announced

The World Steel Association (worldsteel) hosted its third Steel Awards ceremony at the farewell dinner to close the 46th annual steel industry conference. The trophies, known as Steelies, were awarded in seven categories.

The categories, nominations and winners were:

1.  Steel Industry website of the year: AISI
(Final nominations – AISI, ArcelorMittal, Celsa, Severstal, voestalpine)

2.  worldsteel activity of the year: Communications
(Final nominations – Communications’ key messages, Raw Materials’ scrap demand outlook, Health and Safety for safety training programme in China, Sustainability for Sustainable Steel Publication at Rio+ 20, India Steel Vision 2020 for presentation of report)

3.  Innovation of the year: Posco
(Final nominations – Arrium-high recycling rate of passenger car tyres in EAF, CSC-steel plate developed for plate type catalysts, JFE-Longitudinally profiled plate, Posco-Carbody concept for electrical vehicles)

4.  Excellence in sustainability reporting: Baosteel
(Final nominations – ArcelorMittal South Africa, Baosteel, Posco)

5.  Journalist of the year: Silvia Antonioli - Thomson Reuters
(Final nominations - Silvia Antonioli, Thomson Reuters, Prasenjit Bhattacharya, Dow Jones, Christopher Davis, Platts/SBB, Vera Blei, Metal Bulletin, Sheng Xian Wang, Xinhua News Agency)

6.  Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment: Baosteel
(Final nominations – Baosteel, Eurofer, Outokumpu, Rautaruukki, Sabic)

7.  Industry communicator of the year: Karl-Ulrich Köhler
(Final nominations - Edwin Basson, worldsteel, Wolfgang Eder, voestalpine, Karl-Ulrich Köhler, Tata Steel Europe, Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal, Chandra Shekar Verma, SAIL, Changfu Zhang, CISA).

The Steelies winners were selected through nominations by member companies to the relevant worldsteel committees followed by final selection by expert panels. Journalist of the year and communicator of the year were selected by direct vote.

Source: worldsteel, New Delhi

Related Articles

Youtube Linkedin Xing