AFS Announces Additions to Board of Directors for 2021-2022

Lesedauer: min

The American Foundry Society, North America’s largest and most influential metalcasting association, today announced its officers and new board members for 2021-2022.
Returning for a second year are the following officers:

  • As President, Mike Lenahan, president of KB Foundry Services in Independence, Ohio. 
  • As Vice President, Adam San Solo, director of sales and engineering at U.S. Foundry & Manufacturing Company in Medley, Florida.
  • As 2nd Vice President, Bradford Muller, vice president of marketing at Charlotte Pipe & Foundry in Charlotte, North Carolina.
  • As Immediate Past President, Peter Reich, director at LaempeReich, in Trussville, Alabama.

Together with the CEO, Doug Kurkul, they comprise the Society’s Executive Committee.
AFS also welcomed four new members to the Board of Directors for four-year terms running through April 2025. They are:

  • Dr. Laura Bartlett, Wolf Associate Professor of Metallurgical Engineering at Missouri University of Science & Technology in Rolla, Missouri. She has a doctorate and a bachelor’s degree from the same university.
  • Kiley Eck Hayon, president of Eck Industries in Manitowoc, Wisconsin. Eck Industries is a prominent non-ferrous foundry and a corporate member of AFS. Ms. Hayon has a master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh and a bachelor’s degree in computer information systems from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. 
  • Jay M. Morrison, vice president of equipment sales, for Carpenter Brothers in Comstock Park, Michigan. Carpenter Brothers is a 100-plus year-old company serving the foundry industry and is a corporate member of AFS. He has a master’s degree in engineering management and a bachelor’s degree in manufacturing engineering, with a cast metals focus, from Western Michigan University.
  • Liz Ulman, vice president of Dotson Iron Castings in Mankato, Minnesota. Dotson Iron Castings is a prominent ferrous foundry and a corporate member of AFS. Ms. Ulman has a master’s degree in human resources from Central Michigan University and a bachelor’s degree in behavioral sciences from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Rotating off of the Board of Directors is Michael J. Leib, past president and CEO of Weatherly Foundry and Hazleton Foundry in Pennsylvania. “Mike Leib has made a tremendous contribution to the AFS Board over the past four years,” said Mike Lenahan, AFS President. “We thank him for his service and his ongoing friendship.”
Continuing to serve on the Board are the following industry leaders:

  • Class of 2018-2022: Patrick Carlin (Superior Aluminum Alloys); Sara Joyce (Badger Mining); David Gilson (SinterCast); and Jeet Radia (McWane Inc.).
  • Class of 2019-2023: Pat Ameen (Amsted Rail); John P. Haas (Grede Inc.); John Lancaster (General Motors); and Angela Dine Schmeisser (St. Mary’s Foundry).
  • Class of 2020-2024: Rob Johnson (Waupaca Foundry); Jim Mancuso (Mancuso Chemicals); Andy Renkey (Harmony Castings/TPI Arcade); Peter Satre (Allied Mineral Products).

“AFS benefits from having a strong and diverse Board of Directors,” noted Doug Kurkul, the CEO of AFS. “During a challenging time for the metalcasting industry and all of manufacturing, the AFS Board has championed the organization’s programs and provided sound wisdom in all Board deliberations. AFS is positioned to come out of the pandemic stronger than ever.”


AFS - American Foundry Society

1695 North Penny Lane
IL 60173 Schaumburg
United States

Telefon: 800/537-4237