GER - TU Freiberg is part of European University Alliance EURECA-PRO

Together with five partners in Austria, Greece, Poland, Romania und Spain the two Saxon higher education institutions in Freiberg und Mittweida have been selected to join the „European Universities Initiative“ proposed by the European Commission.

Lesedauer: min

The alliance named „The European University Alliance on Responsible Consumption and Production (EURECA-PRO)“ will receive up to €5 million from the Erasmus+ programme and up to €2 million from the Horizon 2020 programme for three years to start implementing their plans and pave the way for other higher education institutions across the EU to follow.

Other partners are Montanuniversität Leoben (project lead), Silesian University of Technolog, Technical University of Crete (Chania), Universidad de Leon and University of Petrosani. From fall 2020 onwards the seven partners in the „European University Alliance on Responsible Consumption and Production“ (EURECA-PRO) and 23 other European alliances will be funded by the European Commission for the next three years.

Studies and research with a focus on sustainability
Common goal of the seven EURECA-PRO-partners is to further deveplop research and study activities within the field of responsible consumption and production associated with goal 12 of the United Nations sustainable development goals (Envision 2030). In the long term, the partners in the alliance plan to form a virtual and integrated European Campus.

The European Commission proposed the European Universities initiative to European Union leaders ahead of the Gothenburg Social Summit in November 2017, as part of an overall vision for the creation of a European Education Area by 2025. The initiative was endorsed by the European Council in December 2017 which called for the emergence of at least 20 European Universities by 2024. The concept of European Universities was developed under the guidance of the European Commission, in close cooperation with Member States, higher education institutions and student organisations.